NEWARK, Del. – The #17 University of Delaware field hockey team had eight individuals receive honors Thursday evening at the Colonial Athletic Association championship banquet, but freshman Esmée Peet highlighted the evening as she earned both Player and Rookie of the Year honors while head coach Rolf van de Kerkhof was named Co-Coach of the Year.

Peet is joined on the All-CAA First Team by sophomore teammate Michaela Patzner (Rosenheim, Germany).

Delaware collected four players on the All-CAA Second Team in sophomore Allie Mikelson (Macungie, Pa.), senior Clare O’Malley (Summit, N.J.), freshman Meghan Winesett (Centreville, Va.) and senior goalie Sarah Scher (Pocomoke City, Md.).

Peet and Winesett were also named to the CAA All-Rookie Team while senior Kasey Prettyman (Newark, Del.) earned All-Academic honors.

Peet is the first Blue Hens field hockey player to receive CAA Player or Rookie of the Year honors thanks to an impressive freshman season.  She’s also just the third player in CAA history, and first since 1997, to win the Player and Rookie of the Year awards in the same season.  No Blue Hen has ever won Rookie of the Year honors and Peet is the first to collect Player of the Year honors since 1998 when Jodi Byrd was named the America East Player of the Year.

Peet is a staple for the dangerous UD offensive attack, registering 10 goals and dishing out four assists over 18 contests this season.  Earlier this season, she tied the UD single season record for a freshman with 24 points.

The Zeewolde, The Netherlands native ranks second in the league in shots per game (3.39), fifth in points (24) and fourth in both goals (10) and goals per game (0.56).  In a 6-0 win over Hofstra on Oct. 25, Peet tied the league-high for a single game with seven points (three goals, one assist).

“I knew the awards that they were giving out tonight, but I didn’t expect my name to be called at all,” stated Peet.  “It is not something that I expected, but it’s a tremendous honor to be thought of so highly.”

In his third season with Delaware, van de Kerkhof made plenty of history as he becomes the first UD field hockey coach to take home the CAA’s Coach of the Year nod after helping the Blue Hens to a perfect 6-0 CAA mark for the first time in program history and a 14-4 overall record.  He shares Coach of the Year honors with William & Mary’s Tess Ellis.

“I have to share my most sincere thanks for this coaching award,” commented van de Kerkhof.  “I have a phenomenal staff in Lynn Farquhar and Kim Kinsella, and of course the coaches that have worked with this program in recent years.  This is a great coaching staff honor and I could not do it without them.  We have earned this together as a staff.”

Patzner currently leads the team with 14 goals and six assists for 34 points.  She is also atop the active career scoring leaders list with 21 career goals.  Patzner was a Second Team All-CAA and All-CAA Rookie Team honoree last season while earning Preseason First Team honors earlier this year.

“Esmée and ‘Ela’ are two great players that were brought in to be impact players for us and they are delivering so far for our program, which is great,” van de Kerkhof remarked.  “They are two great players that are surrounded by terrific teammates and at the end of the day, the most important award is the one we received as a team in the regular season CAA championship trophy.”

Mikelson earns her first recognition from the CAA in her sophomore campaign as she has tallied three goals and three assists for nine points.  She has started all 18 games this season for the Blue Hens.

One of the league’s top midfielders and a team tri-captain, O’Malley was previously named to the All-Rookie Team during the 2010 season.  She has also started all 18 games for Delaware and recorded 10 points off of four goals and two assists.

Winesett is another stellar freshman for the Hens as she has earned three CAA Rookie of the Week honors.  She is third on the team behind Patzner and Peet with 22 points off of seven goals and a team-best eight assists.

Scher leads the UD defensive unit as the team’s primary goalie and tri-captain.  Dating to last season, Scher has started 23 straight games and has not missed a single second of action this season.  She has tallied 79 saves with 25 goals allowed and is currently 12th in Delaware history with 166 career saves.

Prettyman, a nursing major, is also a member of the NFHCA National Academic Squad and National College Athlete Honor Society.  She was also named to the CAA Academic Honor Roll in two previous seasons.

Also earning CAA honors this evening was James Madison senior Amy Goldstein, who was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

All honors were voted and selected on by the CAA field hockey head coaches.

The 2013 CAA Championship gets underway Friday at Rullo Stadium as the top-seeded Blue Hens take on William & Mary at 4 p.m. while Drexel squares off against Northeastern at 7 p.m.  Sunday’s championship game is slated for a 1 p.m. start.

Selected by CAA Field Hockey Coaches

FIRST TEAM                        
Jonel Boileau, Hofstra
Amy Goldstein, James Madison 
Lauren Hibshman, Drexel
Taylor Hodge, William & Mary   
Lindsay McArdle, Drexe
Michaela Patzner, Delaware
Esmée Peet, Delaware
Pippin Saunders, William & Mary
Stella Schoen, Hofstra
Natalie Stewart, Northeastern
Taylor West, James Madison
Jantien Gunter, Drexel

SECOND TEAM                 
Lindsay Bennett, Northeastern
Christina Conrad, Drexel
Chaney Manganello, William & Mary
Kelly Mattingly, Towson
Allie Mikelson, Delaware
Clare O’Malley, Delaware
Loes Stijntjes, James Madison
Jessica Unger, Northeastern
Meghan Winesett, Delaware
Carissa Witmer, Hofstra
Sarah Scher, Delaware
2013 CAA Player of the Year: Esmée Peet, Delaware
2013 CAA Defensive Player of the Year: Amy Goldstein, James Madison
2013 CAA Rookie of the Year: Esmée Peet, Delaware
2013 CAA Co-Coaches of the Year: Tess Ellis, William & Mary and Rolf van de Kerkhof, Delaware

Player, School   
Rosalie Becker, James Madison
Becky Garner, Northeastern
Jessica McCarthy, Drexel
Maria Pastor, William & Mary
Esmée Peet, Delaware
Stella Schoen, Hofstra
Natalie Stewart, Northeastern
Jessica Unger, Northeastern
Meghan Winesett, Delaware
Carissa Witmer, Hofstra

Player, School                                           
Bethany Ashworth, James Madison
Lindsay Bennett, Northeastern
Jonel Boileau, Hofstra
Kristen Focht, Drexel
Taylor Hodge, William & Mary
Kasey Prettyman, Delaware
Kate Williams, Towson