BALTIMORE, Md. – University of Delaware senior guards Devon Saddler and Davon Usher were named first team All-Colonial Athletic Association while Blue Hen head coach Monté Ross was tabbed CAA Coach of the Year Thursday night at the CAA Men’s Basketball Awards Banquet at the Baltimore Marriott Inner Harbor.

Additionally UD senior forward Carl Baptiste was selected to the third team All-CAA, Usher was named to the CAA All-Defensive Team, and junior guard Kyle Anderson earned first team CAA All-Academic honors for the second consecutive year.

Saddler (Aberdeen, Md./Aberdeen) earned first team All-CAA honors for the second consecutive year, becoming just the seventh player in UD history to earn multiple first team all-league honors. Saddler is Delaware’s career leading scorer and ranks third among active Division I players with 2,154 career points, and is 22nd in the nation by averaging a CAA best 20.2 points this year.

The Blue Hens’ career leader in free throws made and minutes played, Saddler has reached double figures in all but one game this season, including a season-high 29 against Charleston Southern in the home opener.

Usher (South Baltimore, Md./Digital Harbor) has produced an outstanding season during his lone year in Newark. He currently is sixth on the UD single season scoring list with 602 points this season, ranking third in the conference with a 19.4 scoring average.

Usher has reached double figures in all but three games this season, including each of the last 20 contests. He scored 42 points during the home comeback win over College of Charleston, a BCC record by a Delaware player, and added 34 during the following contest against James Madison. Usher has also shined on the defensive end of the court, leading the CAA with 55 steals and 1.8 steals per game.

Baptiste (Pittstown, N.J./North Hunterdon) - at left - leads the Blue Hens and ranks fifth in the conference by averaging 8.3 rebounds per game, earning all-conference honors for the first time. He ranks second in the league with a 56.2 field goal percentage, and has grabbed double figure rebounds in nine contests this year.

Baptiste has recorded eight double-doubles this season, good for fourth in the league, and scored a career-high 23 points during the win at William & Mary.

Anderson (Newark, Ill./Newark), who carries a 3.30 GPA as a health and physical education major, earned first team All-Academic honors for the second consecutive year. Anderson leads the Blue Hens with 79 three-pointers this season, which ranks third on the UD single season list.

He also is third in the conference with 2.5 three-pointers made per game, and ranks fifth with a 39.1 three-point percentage. Anderson scored a career-high 29 points during the win at Charleston Southern, and tied the Delaware single game record by hitting eight three-pointers.

Ross (at right), in his eighth year at the helm of the Blue Hens, becomes the fourth coach in Delaware history to earn conference Coach of the Year honors along with Ron Rainey in 1984-85, Steve Steinwedel in 1991-92, and Mike Brey in 1997-98.

Ross has guided the Blue Hens to at least 18 wins in each of the last three seasons including 22 this year, which is currently tied for the fourth most in a UD single season. Ross earned his 112th career victory during the regular season finale at College of Charleston, moving into second place on the UD career wins list.

Under Ross’ direction Delaware has claimed its first CAA regular season title this season, and is the CAA team with the most regular season league wins over the last three seasons.

“This award means a lot, because I know how difficult this league is,” Ross said. “I know how good the coaches are and how good the players are, so to be recognized by the coaches really means a lot. My assistant coaches are just phenomenal and don’t always get the credit they deserve, so this award belongs to them just as much as me.”

Jerrelle Benimon of Towson was named the CAA Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, while Omar Prewitt of William & Mary took home CAA Rookie of the Year honors. Scott Eatherton of Northeastern was tabbed the CAA Defensive Player of the Year, while Tim Rusthoven of William & Mary earned the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.

Delaware finished the regular season at 22-9, and the Blue Hens earned the top seed in the CAA Tournament with a 14-2 league mark. UD will take on either eighth-seeded Hofstra or ninth-seeded UNCW Saturday at 12 noon in the quarterfinals at Baltimore Arena.

First Team All-CAA
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Frantz Massenat, Drexel
Devon Saddler, Delaware
Marcus Thornton, William & Mary
Davon Usher, Delaware

Second Team All-CAA
Scott Eatherton, Northeastern
Chris Fouch, Drexel
Willis Hall, College of Charleston
Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary
Zeke Upshaw, Hofstra

Third Team All-CAA
Carl Baptiste, Delaware
Charles Cooke, James Madison
Marcus Damas, Towson
Rafriel Guthrie, Towson
Andre Nation, James Madison
Dion Nesmith, Hofstra

CAA All-Rookie Team
Canyon Barry, College of Charleston
Omar Prewitt, William & Mary
Jamall Robinson, Hofstra
Rodney Williams, Drexel
T.J. Williams, Northeastern

CAA All-Defensive Team
Adjehi Baru, College of Charleston
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Scott Eatherton, Northeastern
Davon Usher, Delaware
David Walker, Northeastern

CAA All-Academic First Team
Kyle Anderson, Delaware
Canyon Barry, College of Charleston
Brandon Britt, William & Mary
Kyle Gaillard, William & Mary
Willis Hall, College of Charleston
Tanner Milson, UNCW
Dion Nesmith, Hofstra
Timajh Parker-Rivera, Towson
Shane Reybold, UNCW
Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary

CAA Player of the Year: Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
CAA Coach of the Year: Monté Ross, Delaware
CAA Rookie of the Year: Omar Prewitt, William & Mary
CAA Defensive Player of the Year: Scott Eatherton, Northeastern
Dean Ehlers Leadership Award: Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary