Anthony J. DiMarzo 
Men's Lacrosse

Alison L. Farrance (Del Rossi) 
Women's Indoor/Outdoor Track & Field

Cindy A. Johnson 
Women's Basketball

Richard G. "Gardy" Kahoe 

Brenda J. Lear
Field Hockey, Women's Lacrosse

Alvin E. "Al" Neiger 

Michael J. "Mike" Renna 

Eliza B. "Liza" Shoemaker (Kelly) 
Women's Lacrosse

Steve C. Steinwedel 
Men's Basketball Coach 


NEWARK, Del. -- Seven All-Americans, the all-time leading scorers in men's lacrosse and women's basketball history, and the winningest coach in Blue Hen men's basketball annals highlight the 2008 induction class of the University of Delaware Athletics Hall of Fame.

The nine-member group, which includes four women and five men representing nine UD athletics teams, was inducted in an invitation-only ceremony Nov. 21, at the Bob Carpenter Center Auditorium. The group was also be recognized at halftime of the Delaware vs. Villanova football game Saturday, Nov. 22 at Delaware Stadium.

This year's induction class is the 12th in school history and increases the total number of inductees to 103.

The Class of 2008 includes men's lacrosse All-American and all-time leading scorer Anthony DiMarzo; seven-time conference champion and two-time Academic All-American in track and field Alison Farrance (Del Rossi); all-time leading women's basketball scorer Cindy Johnson; All-American football running back Gardy Kahoe; two-sport standout in lacrosse and as an All-American in field hockey Brenda Lear; fireballing pitcher and baseball All-American Al Neiger (at right); All-American football defensive lineman Mike Renna; All-American women's lacrosse midfielder Liza Shoemaker (Kelly); and all-time winningest men's basketball coach Steve Steinwedel.

"We are excited to welcome another group of outstanding student-athletes and coaches into the University of Delaware Athletics Hall of Fame," said University of Delaware Director of Athletics Edgar N. Johnson in making the announcement. "This is another star-studded class that not only excelled on the playing fields but also in the classroom. All of them brought distinction to the University of Delaware and its athletics program in their own ways and we are pleased to honor them."