RICHMOND, Va.  --  Led by first team selections James Connelly and Brian Kormondy, the University of Delaware men’s lacrosse squad had five players honored on the All-Colonial Athletic Association teams announced by the league office.

Connelly (at right), a senior defender from Royersford, Pa. (Malvern Prep), and Kormondy, a junior midfielder from Highland Ranch, Colo. (Mullen HS), each earned spots on the first team.

junior faceoff specialist Tyler Barbarich (Martinsville, N.J./Bridgewater-Rariton HS) earned second team honors, redshirt freshman midfielder Steve DeLargy (Morristown, N.J./Morristown HS) was named to the All-Rookie Team; and senior goalkeeper Chris Herbert (Mansfield, Mass./Xaverian Bros.) was named to the All-Academic Team.

Connelly, a two-year starter and 2014 team captain, was among the top defenders in the conference once again this spring as he started all 16 games, ranked second on the team with 12 caused turnovers, and was fourth on the squad with 28 groundballs.

A pre-season All-CAA first team pick, he earned All-CAA honors for the second straight year after being named to the second team a year ago.

Ranked No. 10 on the all-time UD caused turnovers list with 28, he was selected in the fourth round of the Major League Lacrosse Draft by Denver back in January.

Kormondy (at left) was one of the Hens’ most improved players in 2014 as he ranked third on the team in scoring with 30 points on 17 goals and 13 assists.

He was the only player on the squad to score a point in every game this season and tallied two or more goals three times, including a career-high three vs. Lafayette. He also scored the winning goal in the final seconds of the 9-8 win at Binghamton on March 9.

Barbarich (at right) was one of the nation’s top faceoff specialists this spring as he won 153 of 240 attempts to rank fifth in the nation and first in the CAA with a success rate of 63.8 percent.

He also led the team with 83 groundballs, a mark that ranked third in the CAA and 23rd in the nation. He also added a goal and three assists and won better than 50 percent of his faceoffs in all but one game he played.

His season was cut short when he suffered a season-ending shoulder injury last Friday vs. Massachusetts and did not play in Delaware’s 8-6 CAA semifinal loss to Hofstra on Wednesday.

DeLargy (below left) enjoyed an outstanding rookie campaign as a redshirt freshman. He started all 16 games on Delaware’s first midfield unit and ranked fourth on the team in scoring with 24 points on 16 goals and eight assists.

He scored in each of the Blue Hens’ 12 games, tallied in 13 of the final 15, and had two more six times, including two in the CAA semifinal loss to Hofstra. He also recorded 10 groundballs and two caused turnovers on the season.

Herbert (below right), a political science major with a minor in legal studies, was a three-year letterwinner who started in 2012 and the first half of the 2013 season before an injury forced him into a backup role.

He recorded a 6.96 goals against average and a .533 save pct. in three games in 2014 and finished his career ranked No. 19 all-time at Delaware with 201 saves. A CoSIDA Academic All-American nominee, he was a four-time CAA Academic Honor Roll recipient and a Dean’s List student. He plans to enter law school after graduation.

Delaware finished the 2014 season with a 7-9 overall mark and a 1-4 slate in league play for head coach Bob Shillinglaw. The Hens advanced to the CAA Tournament for the first time since 2011 before falling to top-seed Hofstra 8-6 in the semifinals.


ALL-CAA FIRST TEAM: Attack - Sam Llinares, Hofstra; Shane Sturgis, Penn State; Nick Trizano, Drexel; Midfield - Ryan Belka, Drexel; Brian Kormondy, Delaware; Ben McIntosh, Drexel; Defense - James Connelly, Delaware; Matt Dusek, Drexel; JoJo Ostrander, Towson; Finn Sullivan, Hofstra; LSM - Ryan Rielly, Hofstra; Faceoff - Nick Saputo- Drexel; Goalkeeper - Austin Kaut, Penn State
ALL-CAA SECOND TEAM: Attack - Thomas DeNapoli, Towson; Nick Mariano, Massachusetts; Torin Varn, Hofstra; Midfield - Drew Coholan, Hofstra; Justin Mabus, Towson; Connor Mooney, Massachusetts; Defense - John Fennessy, Towson; Kyle Karaska, Massachusetts; Tyler Travis, Penn State; LSM - James Burke, Penn State; Faceoff - Tyler Barbarich, Delaware; Goalkeeper - Chris Selva, Hofstra
2014 CAA PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ben McIntosh, Drexel
2014 CAA COACH OF THE YEAR: Seth Tierney, Hofstra
2014 CAA ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Nick Mariano, Massachusetts
2014 CAA DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Austin Kaut, Penn State
ALL-ROOKIE TEAM:  Kris Clarke, Hofstra; Steve DeLargy, Delaware; Ryan Drenner, Towson; Drake Kreinz, Penn State; Nick Mariano, Massachusetts; Markel Nelson, Drexel; Stephen Satterthwaite, Hofstra; Joe Seider, Towson; Cole Shafter, Drexel; Mike Sutton, Penn State

ALL-ACADEMIC TEAM: Joe Calvello, Massachusetts; Thomas DeNapoli, Towson; Will Gabrielsen, Drexel; Chris Herbert, Delaware; Austin Kaut, Penn State; Lance Yapor, Hofstra.