CAA Release

NEWARK, Del. – Delaware had an astounding 10 individuals honored Thursday by the Colonial Athletic Association, but sophomore Greta Nauck (Krefeld, Germany/Gymnasium am Moltekeplatz) led the way as the conference’s Player of the Year while head coach Rolf van de Kerkhof garnered Coach of the Year accolades.

Nauck was joined on the All-CAA First Team list by senior Esmée Peet (Zeewolde, The Netherlands/RSG Slingerbos) and juniors Taylor Lister (Hummelstown, Pa./Lower Dauphin) and Emmeline Oltmans (Baarn, The Netherlands/Het Baarnsch Lyceum).

All-Second Team honors went to sophomores Kiki Bink (Wageningen, The Netherlands/RSG Pantarijn) and Lisa Giezeman (Leidschendam, The Netherlands/Sin-Maartens/Boerhaave) while Sarah Horgan (Centreville, Va./Westfield) and Ally Pollak (Crofton, Md./Arundel) were picked for the All-Rookie Team.  Senior Marjelle Scheffers (Amersfoort, The Netherlands/Stedelijk Gymnasium Johan van Oldenbarnevelt) as chosen as an All-Academic Team selection.

Nauck, who is currently tops in NCAA Division I standings with 1.26 goals per game, recently set new program single-season records with 56 points and 24 goals. She is also third nationally with 2.95 points per contest and first in the CAA with 6.00 shots per game and six game-winning goals while tying for fifth with eight assists. The midfielder has been awarded CAA Player of the Week accolades three times this season.

“Congratulations to Greta as this is a well-deserved and earned honor,” exclaimed Van de Kerkhof.  “It is amazing to have the NCAA’s leading scorer on our team and at the same time, knowing that she remains very humble and excited to contribute to our team success and goals. I am very proud of our players group and on how individuals – including Greta – have committed and contributed to their own and our team’s growth and development on a daily basis.”

Van de Kerkhof, who is in his sixth season at the helm of the No. 9 Blue Hens, has led Delaware to an overall mark of 80-45 (.640) while going 33-12 (.733) in CAA regular and postseason play with three straight conference titles. He previously earned CAA Co-Coach of the Year accolades in 2013.

“I appreciate and would like to extend my thanks to my fellow CAA coaching colleagues in believing that my role as one of the University of Delaware field hockey coaches is worthy of the 2016 CAA Coach of the Year Award,” Van de Kerkhof remarked.  “At the same time, it is very clear to me that the honor is based on the work and performance of a dozen or so coaches and support staff members.  I want to give a big shout-out and thank you to Missy Arenz, Jordan McKee and Jacki Coveleski for completing my coaching staff.  Their drive, desire and dedication in being the best coaches and ambassadors for this season’s players’ group, our program and institution.”

Van de Kerkhof continued, “Other members of my staff that I would like to thank and owe tribute to include Bridget Burger (Team Academic Coordinator), Lindsey Yates, Gabby Francis, Erica Witkowski, Sarah DeLiberty and Paul Lowry (Athletic Training), Joe Baranello (Strength & Conditioning), Maggie Hayon (Media Relations), Cody Spence (Equipment), Ned Davis (Grounds), Bryan Hill (Game Operations), Jennifer Judy (Sport Administrator), and I could go on and on.  And last, but not least, the families and parents of our student-athletes as well as my own family for allowing our players and the coaches to be the best they can be and with their support of UDFH wherever they are and with whatever they need.  Thanks to great teamwork by the professional team around Blue Hens field hockey, I would say that this is the ‘2016 CAA Coaching and Support Staff of the Year’ Award.”

Peet, the 2013 Player and Rookie of the Year, was an All-First Team selection for the fourth straight year.  The midfielder is currently fourth for the Hens with 17 points on six goals and five assists.  Peet currently fifth in Delaware history with 112 career points on 45 goals and 22 assists.

Lister was named to the First Team for the first time in her career after collecting Second Team accolades as a sophomore and All-Rookie Team honors during her first season.  She has posted career numbers for the Blue Hens this season and is fourth overall with 18 points on five goals and eight assists.

Oltmans is also a first-time All-First team honoree as she was an All-Rookie Team selection in 2014.  The goalie has appeared in 1170 minutes for the Hens while allowing 1.92 goals per game with 57 saves (.695). Her winning percentage of .895 is good for third nationally.

The Blue Hens will vie for their fourth straight and sixth overall CAA crown this coming weekend at Fred P. Rullo Stadium. The semifinal format begins on Friday, Nov. 4 with the top-seeded Blue Hens (17-2, 6-0 CAA) taking on fourth-seeded Drexel (8-10, 3-3 CAA) at 3 p.m.  Following that contest, second-seeded William & Mary (9-9, 5-1 CAA) squares off against third-seeded James Madison (12-6, 4-2 CAA) at approximately 6 p.m.

The 2016 title game takes place at 1 p.m. Sunday, with the victors from Friday’s semifinals contests competing for the conference crown and automatic bid to the NCAA Field Hockey Championship.

MEDIA CONTACT: Maggie Hayon, Sports Information Director | | O: 302-831-6389 | C: 302-379-9182