OCCOQUAN, VA. -- The University of Delaware women’s rowing team concluded their fall racing season on top as they defended their first-place title at the Head of the Occoquan Regatta Saturday.

The Delaware ‘A’ boat finished first (17.37.69) in the Collegiate Women’s 8+ event, defending their first-place finish for the third year in a row. Delaware also finished 9th (18:52.05) and 10th (19:07.80) in the same event.

Delaware finished first again in the Women’s Collegiate 4+ event, with the ‘A’ boat coming in at 19:20.16. Delaware’s ‘B’ 4+ finished fourth (20:14.27) while Delaware’s ‘C’ 4+ finished sixth (20:53.62).

The Blue Hens also debuted their novice crew, which placed second (21:07.97) in the Women’s Freshmen/Novice event.

The Hens move indoors for winter training and return to the water March 17th in Philadelphia.


UD “A” – 

c-Alison Gibney

8-McKayla Wood

7-Camryn McGrath

6-Natalie Teichman

5-Kaitlyn Thomesen

4-Claire Brown

3-Mia Natale

2-Brynn McMahon

1-Sarah Shaffer


UD “B” 

c-Katie Hewton

8-Laura Donohue

7-Alex Perna

6-Annie Cooper

5-Kara North

4-Sydney Gualtieri

3-Kyra Taylor

2-Juliana Fellowes

1-Emily Dunham


UD “C” 

c-Sarina Low

8-Ali Rider

7-Eileen Lipshultz

6-Eliza Eggleston

5-Emma Spillman

4-Isadora Weinfeld

3-Megan Ryan

2-Caroline Popielaski

1-Bridget Callaghan


UD “D” 

c-Lily Wolfe

8-Devon Tapp

7-Marissa Giardina

6-Helena Schnorr

5-Sarah Wells

4-Lydia Cole

3-Michelle Curtis

2-Jackie Bucchere

1-Makaela Purcell


Collegiate Novice 8+

c-Hannah Kirk

8-Faith Johnson

7-Audrey Aldridge

6-Marguerite McGahay

5-Tiernan Settles

4-Danielle Davis

3-Zoe Mangum

2-Korren Campbell

1-Allyssa Rullo


Collegiate 4+


UD “A” 

c-Alison Gibney

4-McKayla Wood

3-Camryn McGrath

2-Natalie Teichman

1-Kaitlyn Thomesen


UD “B” 

c-Sophia Elliott

4-Claire Brown

3-Mia Natale

2-Brynn McMahon

1-Sarah Shaffer


UD “C” 

c-Elizabeth Weglein

4-Laura Donohue

3-Kara North

2-Sydney Gualtieri

1-Kyra Taylor


UD “D”

c-Emma Link

4-Megan Drohan

3-Courtney Burnham

2-Caroline Popielaski

1-Sarah Wells