NEWARK, Del. -- The University of Delaware field hockey team and five of its squad members have been honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association for academic excellence.

Delaware, led by head coach Rolf van de Kerkhof, was among 70 schools in NCAA Division I honored for having a team cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better.

In addition to the team honors, the Blue Hens placed five members on the 2012 Division I National Academic Squad, which recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year.

Delaware’s individual honorees were freshman Emily Arnot (Medford, N.J./Shawnee High School), freshman Janell Holmes (Harrisburg, Pa./Harrisburg Christian HS), freshman Maddie O’Beirne (Vienna, Va./George C. Marshall H), junior Clare O’Malley (Summit, N.J./Summit HS), and junior Kasey Prettyman (at right; Newark, Del./St. Mark's HS).

Prettyman was honored for the third straight year while O’Malley earned a spot on the team for the second time in her career.

Prettyman played in all 20 games with 18 starts in 2012 and contributed four goals and two assists; O’Malley played in all 20 games with 18 starts and had two goals and two assists; Holmes played in all 20 games with 19 starts on defense; and Arnot and O’Beirne did not see game action.

The Blue Hens posted a record of 8-12 during the 2012 campaign and advanced to the Colonial Athletic Association Tournament semifinals before falling to host Drexel 2-1.