PHILADELPHIA -- University of Delaware senior Paul Worrilow (at right), who led the Blue Hen football team in tackles each of the last three seasons and ranked among the national leaders in that category this fall, has earned a spot on The Sports Network NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision All-American third team.

Worrilow, a two-time team captain from Wilmington, Del. (Concord High School) and a two-time first team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection, was one of 97 student-athletes, including 14 linebackers, honored on the three teams. The teams are selected by the TSN staff in consultation with conference leagues offices.

He becomes the 41st player in UD history to earn TSN All-American honors and the first since offensive lineman and current Baltimore Ravens player Gino Gradkowski earned first team honors last season. Worrilow is the first Blue Hen linebacker to be honored by TSN since Dan Mulhern earned second team honors in 2002. Delaware has now had at least one player earn All-American honors 10 times in 11 seasons under head coach K.C. Keeler.

Worrilow, who earned All-CAA honors three times during his career, closed out his brilliant career with the Blue Hens in impressive style during the 2012 campaign. Although the Hens struggled to a 5-6 record, Worrilow was outstanding throughout the campaign as he recorded a team-high 107 tackles (57 solo) to go with three quarterback sacks, nine tackles for loss, two pass breakups, and a forced fumble. As team, Delaware ranked No. 2 in the CAA in rushing defense, allowing just 134.2 yards per game.

His average of 10.7 tackles per game led the Colonial Athletic Association and currently ranks 15th in the nation at the NCAA FCS level. He recorded 10 or more tackles six times during the season, including a career-high 18 vs. Delaware State on Sept. 8. He also had 13 stops vs. Old Dominion and 12 each against West Chester, Towson, and Villanova.

Worrilow finished his career with 377 total tackles, 33.5 tackles for loss, six sacks, eight pass breakups, and four forced fumbles. He ranks No. 5 all-time in tackles in Delaware history and No. 11 in tackles for loss.

Highlighting the list for the CAA were first teamers in quarterback Taylor Heinicke of Old Dominion, offensive lineman Earl Watford of James Madison, and linebacker Matt Evans of New Hampshire, and defensive back Cooper Taylor of Richmond.

Other CAA players selected were fullback Kendall Gaskins of Richmond, linebacker Stephon Robertson of James Madison, and defensive back B.W. Webb of William & Mary on the second team and Towson defensive end Frank Beltre, defensive tackle Chris Burnette of Old Dominion, defensive tackle Jared Smith of New Hampshire, and defensive back Jordan Dangerfield of Towson on the third team.


The Sports Network All-American Team

  QB - Taylor Heinicke (Old Dominion); RB - Miguel Maysonet (Stony Brook); Zach Zenner (South Dakota State); FB - Eric Breitenstein (Wofford); WR - Erik Lora (Eastern Illinois),Aaron Mellette (Elon); TE - A.C. Leonard (Tennessee State); OL - Michael Bamiro (Stony Brook); Mike Sellers (The Citadel); Billy Turner (North Dakota State); Earl Watford (James Madison); Bryan Witzmann (South Dakota State); All-Purpose - Walter Powell (Murray State); K - Patrick Murray (Fordham); KR - Jerodis Williams (Furman)

Defense: DE - Caleb Schreibeis (Montana State); Colton Underwood (Illinois State); DT - Cody Larsen (Southern Utah); Brent Russell (Georgia Southern); LB - Matt Evans (New Hampshire); Jeremy Kimbrough (Appalachian State); Robert McCabe (Georgetown); Jody Owens (Montana State); DB - Jaquiski Tartt (Samford); Cooper Taylor (Richmond); Darnell Taylor (Sam Houston State); Marcus Williams (North Dakota State); P - Andy Wilder (Northern Arizona); PR - Dominic Gunn (Northern Colorado)


Offense: QB - Gavin McCarney (Colgate); RB - Shakir Bell (Indiana State); Deonte Williams (Cal Poly); FB - Kendall Gaskins (Richmond); WR - Jordan Harris (Bryant); Brandon Kaufman (Eastern Washington); Kevin Norrell (Stony Brook); TE - Kyle Juszczyk (Harvard); OL - Aaron Adams (Eastern Kentucky); Sean Davies (UC Davis); Dakota Dozier (Furman); Rogers Gaines (Tennessee State); Corey Howard (Central Arkansas); All-Purpose - Tyler Varga (Yale); PK - Jimmy Pavel (Eastern Washington); KR - Fabian Truss (Samford)

Defense: DE - Brandon Thurmond (Arkansas-Pine Bluff); Davis Tull (Chattanooga); DT - Montori Hughes (UT Martin); Caraun Reid (Princeton); LB - Keith Pough (Howard); Stephon Robertson (James Madison); Ian Sluss (Portland State); Jordan Tripp (Montana); DB - Robert Alford (SE Louisiana); Steven Godbolt III (Tennessee State); T.J. Lee III (Eastern Washington); B.W. Webb (William & Mary); P - Bobby Wenzig (Alabama State); PR - Austin Shanks (Northern Arizona)


Offense: QB - Casey Brockman (Murray State); RB - Timothy Flanders (Sam Houston State); Jordan McCord (Colgate); FB - Jake Hess (Northern Arizona); WR - Sean Price (Appalachian State); Quentin Sims (UT Martin); TE - MyCole Pruitt (Southern Illinois); OL - Garrett Frye (Georgia Southern); Terrance Hackney (Bethune-Cookman); Kaleb Hopson (Sam Houston State); Terren Jones (Alabama State); Ryan Risch (Colgate); J.C. Tretter (Cornell); All-Purpose - Greg Hardin (North Dakota); PK - Ernie Collins (San Diego); KR - Carlos Anderson (Northern Iowa), Colby Walden (Jacksonville)

Defense: DE - Frank Beltre (Towson); Mike Catapano (Princeton); Nolan Nearhoff (Robert Morris); Zach Wagenmann (Montana); DT - Chris Burnette (Old Dominion); Robert Simpson (Mississippi Valley State); Jared Smith (New Hampshire); LB - Seth Allison (Central Arkansas); Quinn Backus (Coastal Carolina); Dorian Bell (Duquesne); Wes Dothard (Chattanooga); Blake Peiffer (SE Missouri State); Paul Worrilow (Delaware); DB - Jordan Dangerfield (Towson); Ben Ericksen (Illinois State); Demetrius McCray (Appalachian State); Kejuan Riley (Alabama State); Caleb Schaffitzel (Missouri State); Johnny Towalid (Indiana State); P - Sam Martin (Appalachian State); PR - Jesse Grandy (Central Arkansas)