DURHAM, N.C. – The University of Delaware baseball team was honored by USA Baseball Tuesday as first baseman Jimmy Yezzo was named one of the 30 semifinalists for the 2013 USA Golden Spikes Award. The 2013 season marks the 36th consecutive year that the award has been presented to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

Yezzo (at right), a junior from Cherry Hill, N.J. (Bishop Eustace HS) and the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association Baseball Player of the Year, is the only member of the conference to be recognized on the 30-man list.

The left-handed slugger led the CAA in batting average (.410), hits (96), doubles (28), RBI (64), total bases (167) and slugging percentage (.714) while starting all 55 games this season for the Blue Hens. He also led the Hens in runs scored (52), at bats (234) and on-base percentage (.453) during his third year in Newark.

The first Delaware player since 2000 to be named conference Player of the Year, Yezzo is also vying to become the first Blue Hen baseball player to earn a national player of the year award since Kevin Mench was named National Player of the Year by in 1998 by Collegiate Baseball Magazine.

For more information about the Golden Spikes Award, fans can go to the online home of the award, www.GoldenSpikesAward.com. The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and biographical information for the 2013 semifinalists.  

Fans can follow online at GoldenSpikesAward.com as the list of 30 players is narrowed to three finalists on Tuesday, June 4.

For the third year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network.  On Friday, July 19, the three finalists for the award will be at the live presentation, which will air during The Rundown – at 2 p.m. ET – featuring interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner.  The presentation will also be simulcast live on GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com.


Golden Spikes Player of the Year Award Semifinalists

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference
Mark Appel, RHP, Senior, Stanford, Pac-12
Tyler Beede, RHP, Sophomore, Vanderbilt, SEC
David Berg, RHP, Sophomore, UCLA, Pac-12
Alex Bregman, IF, Freshman, Louisiana State, SEC
Kris Bryant, UTIL, Junior, San Diego, West Coast
Kerry Doane, RHP, Senior, East Tennessee State, Atlantic Sun
Hunter Dozier, IF, Senior, Stephen F. Austin, Southland
Kent Emanuel, LHP, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Freshman, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Zane Evans, C/RHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC
Marco Gonzales, LHP, Junior, Gonzaga, West Coast
Jonathan Gray, RHP, Junior, Oklahoma, Big 12
Eric  Jagielo, IF/OF, Junior, Notre Dame, Big East
Mason Katz, IF, Sr, Louisiana State, SEC
Tony Kemp, OF, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Michael Lorenzen, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Kyle McGowin, RHP, Sophomore, Savannah State, Mid-Eastern
Colin Moran, IF, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Aaron  Nola, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC
Justin Parr, OF, Senior, Illinois, Big 10
D.J.  Peterson, IF, Junior, New Mexico, Mountain West
Nick Petree, RHP, RS Junior, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Jimmie Sherfy, RHP , Junior, Oregon, Pac-12
Ryne Stanek, RHP, Junior, Arkansas, SEC
Mike Tauchman, OF, Senior, Bradley, Missouri Valley
Jeff Thompson, RHP, Junior, Louisville, Big East
Trea Turner, IF, Sophomore, NC State, ACC
Bobby Wahl, RHP, Junior, Mississippi, SEC
Jimmy Yezzo, IF, Junior, Delaware, Colonial Athletic
Kevin Ziomek, LHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC