March 8, 2013

Group Photo by Jimmy Smith, Saddler/Hagins Photos by Gary Brittain

Athlete photoRICHMOND, Va. -- University of Delaware junior guard Devon Saddler was named first team All-Colonial Athletic Association, while senior forward Jamelle Hagins earned second team honors and was selected the league’s Defensive Player of the Year Friday night at the CAA Men’s Basketball Awards Banquet at the Richmond Downtown Marriott.

Additionally UD sophomore guard Jarvis Threatt was named third team All-CAA, sophomore guard Kyle Anderson was a first team CAA All-Academic team selection, and senior guard Will Townsville was picked CAA Academic honorable mention for the third consecutive year.

Saddler (Aberdeen, Md./Aberdeen) earned first team All-CAA honors after being selected to the second team a year ago. He becomes the third Blue Hen to be named to the first team All-CAA, along with Harding Nana in 2004-05 and 2005-06 and Marc Egerson in 2008-09. Saddler leads the conference and ranks 15th in Division I with 20.2 points per game, and has reached double figures in all 31 games this season. He has been especially proficient lately, surpassing the 20-point mark in eight of the last 10 contests. Saddler’s 627 points are the fourth most in a UD single season, while he already ranks third in Blue Hen history with 1,641 career points.

Hagins (Roanoke, Va./William Fleming) picked up second team All-CAA accolades for the second consecutive year and becomes the first Blue Hen in school history to earn conference Defensive Player of the Year honors. The school’s career leader in blocks and rebounds, Hagins is one of nine current Division I players with over 1,000 career points and rebounds. Hagins currently ranks eighth in the nation with 10.5 rebounds per game, and is tied for 13th with 14 double-doubles. He leads the league with 2.4 blocks per game this season, while his 286 career blocks are tied for third most in CAA history and his 1,051 career rebounds put him sixth.

Athlete photoThreatt (Richmond, Va./Highland Springs) picked up third team All-CAA honors after being selected to the CAA All-Rookie Team a year ago. Threatt leads the Blue Hens with 91 assists and 49 steals this season, while he ranks second with 13.1 points and 5.7 rebounds per game. He has reached double figures 21 times on the year including each of the last eight contests, averaging 16.3 points during that stretch. Threatt has surpassed the 20-point mark five times and posted three double-doubles on the campaign, while he scored nine of Delaware’s final 10 points during the regular season finale victory over George Mason.

Anderson (Newark, Ill./Newark) is the third Blue Hen to earn first team CAA All-Academic honors, joining Mike Slattery in 2002-03 and 2003-04 and Mike Ames in 2003-04. Anderson, who carries a 3.29 GPA as a health and physical education major, leads Delaware with 60 three-pointers made and ranks fourth with a 9.3 scoring average. He has reached double figures in 13 games this season, including a season-high 19 against Northeastern on Jan. 19.

Townsville (Newark, Del./Glasgow) boasts a 3.22 GPA and will graduate from UD this May with a degree in business management. He has appeared in 12 games this season while totaling 12 rebounds and four points, and cracked the starting lineup against Radford and George Mason.

Towson junior forward Jerrelle Benimon was named the CAA Player of the Year and was joined on the first team by Saddler, R.J. Hunter of Georgia State, Keith Rendleman of UNCW, and Joel Smith of Northeastern. Hagins was joined on the second team by Damion Lee and Frantz Massenat of Drexel, Marcus Thornton of William & Mary, and Sherrod Wright of George Mason.

The all-conference third team consisted of Threatt, Quincy Ford of Northeastern, Rayshawn Goins of James Madison, Jonathan Lee of Northeastern, Devon Moore of James Madison, and Tim Rusthoven of William & Mary. Georgia State’s Hunter was the CAA Rookie of the Year and was joined on the All-Rookie Team by Jerome Hairston of Towson, Andre Nation of James Madison, Keenan Palmore of Old Dominion, and David Walker of Northeastern.

Pat Skerry of Towson was selected the league’s Coach of the Year, while Jonathan Lee earned the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.

Delaware finished the regular season at 18-13, and the Blue Hens earned the second seed in this weekend’s CAA Tournament with a 13-5 league mark. UD takes on seventh-seeded Hofstra in the CAA Quarterfinals on Saturday at 6 p.m. at the Richmond Coliseum.

First Team All-CAA
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
R.J. Hunter, Georgia State
Keith Rendleman, UNCW
Devon Saddler, Delaware
Joel Smith, Northeastern

Second Team All-CAA
Jamelle Hagins, Delaware
Damion Lee, Drexel
Frantz Massenat, Drexel
Marcus Thornton, William & Mary
Sherrod Wright, George Mason

Third Team All-CAA
Quincy Ford, Northeastern
Rayshawn Goins, James Madison
Jonathan Lee, Northeastern
Devon Moore, James Madison
Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary
Jarvis Threatt, Delaware

CAA All-Rookie Team
Jerome Hairston, Towson
R.J. Hunter, Georgia State
Andre Nation, James Madison
Keenan Palmore, Old Dominion
David Walker, Northeastern

CAA All-Defensive Team
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Jamelle Hagins, Delaware
Stevie Mejia, Hofstra
Keith Rendleman, UNCW
James Vincent, Georgia State

CAA All-Academic First Team
Kyle Anderson, Delaware
Kyle Gaillard, William & Mary
Donte Hill, Old Dominion
Shane Reybold, UNCW
Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary

CAA All-Academic Second Team
Brandon Britt, William & Mary
Daquan Brown, Hofstra
Jonathan Lee, Northeastern
Tanner Milson, UNCW
Kris Walden, Towson

CAA Academic Honorable Mention
Bryan Blackstone, Towson
Brett Goodloe, William & Mary
Fred Heldring, William & Mary
Doug Howard, William & Mary
Anton Larsen, Old Dominion
Stevan Manojlovic, Drexel
Andrew Pavloff, William & Mary
Tom Schalk, William & Mary
Will Townsville, Delaware

CAA Player of the Year: Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
CAA Coach of the Year: Pat Skerry, Towson
CAA Rookie of the Year: R.J. Hunter, Georgia State
CAA Defensive Player of the Year:Jamelle Hagins, Delaware
Dean Ehlers Leadership Award: Jonathan Lee, Northeastern