NEW YORK -- For the second straight season, University of Delaware women’sbasketball standout Elena Delle Donne has been named to the Associated Press All-America first team.

Delle Donne, who recently finished her collegiate career as the fifth all-time leading scorer in NCAA history with 3,039 points, earned AP honors for the fourth time. 

As a sophomore, she was named to the honorable mention list while collecting third team honors as a freshman.

She wrapped up her senior campaign last week averaging 26.0 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.3 blocks and 1.9 assists in 30 games for the Hens.

The senior forward helped lead the No. 15 Blue Hens to 104 victories, four 20-win seasons, two 30-win seasons, two Colonial Athletic Association titles and two NCAA Tournament berths during her four seasons at UD. 

Most recently, Delle Donne guided Delaware to the first NCAA Sweet 16 appearance in school history as the Blue Hens knocked off West Virginia and No. 13 North Carolina before falling to No. 7 Kentucky, 69-62, in the Bridgeport Regional semifinals Sunday.

Individually, Delle Donne scored in double figures in 113 of 114 games played for the Hens.  The lone contest she didn’t score in double figures, she left the game early due to illness.  Additionally, Delle Donne collected 46 double doubles, 96 20-point games and 37 30-point games throughout her illustrious career.

A Wilmington, Del. native, Delle Donne is a three-time CAA Player of the Year and repeated this year as the Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year.

“It’s an incredible honor to be an All-American,” stated Delle Donne.  “To be with this group of girls is really special.”

Delle Donne is joined on the list by Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Brittney Griner (Baylor), Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford), and Odyssey Sims (Baylor).

Griner and Diggins were unanimous selections to the team, each receiving 200 points by the 40-member national media panel that votes in the weekly Top 25.  It’s the sixth straight season that there has been at least one unanimous choice.  All voting was done prior to the NCAA Tournament.

The five All-Americans were on the pre-season team, along with Maryland junior Alyssa Thomas.  It was only the third time that the post-season All-Americans were all on the pre-season team since the AP started compiling a squad in 1995.


Elena Delle Donne (Sr., Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Sr., Notre Dame), Brittney Griner (Sr., Baylor), Chiney Ogwumike (Jr., Stanford), Odyssey Sims (Jr., Baylor)

Chelsea Grey (Jr., Duke), Maggie Lucas (Jr., Penn State), A’dia Mathies (Sr., Kentucky), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (So., Connecticut), Alyssa Thomas (Jr., Maryland)

Kelsey Bone (Jr., Texas A&M), Stefanie Dolson (Jr., Connecticut), Kayla McBride (Jr., Notre Dame), Meighan Simmons (Jr., Tennessee), Elizabeth Williams (So., Duke)

Natalie Achonwa, Notre Dame; Kayla Alexander, Syracuse; Rachel Banham, Minnesota; Alex Bentley, Penn State; Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State; Gennifer Brandon, California; Brandi Brown, Youngstown State; Brittany Chambers, Kansas State; Layshia Clarendon, California; Hallie Christofferson, Iowa State; Jerica Coley, Florida International.

Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma; Shante Evans, Hofstra; Kelly Faris, Connecticut; Angel Goodrich, Kansas; Tianna Hawkins, Maryland; Tayler Hill, Ohio State; Jordan Hooper, Nebraska; Chucky Jeffery, Colorado; Tyaunna Marshall, Georgia Tech; Drey Mingo, Purdue; Lindsey Moore, Nebraska.

Jasmine Newsome, UT-Martin; Karisma Penn, Illinois; Michelle Plouffe, Utah; Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State; Niveen Rasheed, Princeton; Ebony Rowe, Middle Tennessee; Tierra Ruffin-Pratt, North Carolina; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown; Andrea Smith, South Florida; Markel Walker, UCLA; Toni Young Oklahoma State.