ATLANTA -- University of Delaware standout Elena Delle Donne (at right) has been chosen as one of four finalists for the 2013 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year resulting from an outstanding senior season.

Delle Donne, a former Naismith High School Girl’s Player of the Year recipient, earned her third Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year Award and has led the Blue Hens to a 30-3 overall record with back-to-back CAA titles this season.  Delaware, a No. 6 seed, tips off in the NCAA Tournament for the second straight season this Sunday at 12:15 p.m. against West Virginia at the Bob Carpenter Center.

Entering NCAA Tournament play, Delle Donne currently averages 25.3 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.3 blocks and 1.9 assists per game for a Blue Hen squad that is ranked 15th nationally.  She is ranked second in the NCAA with her point total, behind FIU’s Jerica Coley, who has put up 25.9 points per contest for the Panthers this season.

Additionally, Delle Donne is currently ranked 11th in NCAA women’s basketball history with 2,940 career points in just 111 games played.  She is five points away from overtaking 10th place from Appalachian State’s Valorie Whiteside, who ended her career in 1988 with 2,944 points.

Delle Donne has racked up 10 Delaware women’s basketball career records and is tops in CAA history in four different career categories, including scoring.

The Naismith Award finalists were chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, which determined that their performances throughout the 2013 regular season stood out among a host of great women’s basketball players.  The 2013 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year will be awarded to one of these four finalists on April 8, 2013 in New Orleans, La. 

Joining Delle Donne as Naismith Award finalists is Notre Dame senior Skylar Diggins, Baylor senior Brittney Griner and Stanford junior Chiney Ogwumike.  Griner is the defending Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year.  In addition to Delle Donne, Diggins and Ogwumike are also previous Naismith High School Player of the Year Trophy honorees.

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner.  Beginning March 25 through April 6, fans can cast their vote by calling **VOTE to (**8683).  Voting is open to customers of all wireless carriers (message and data rates may apply).