RADNOR, Pa. -- University of Delaware men’s lacrosse standouts Nick Diachenko and Eric Smith have been selected to play in the 72nd annual United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA)/LAXWORLD North-South Senior All-Star Game this Friday, May 24, at Cabrini College.

Diachenko, a midfielder from Courtice, Ontario (Holy Trinity High School), and Smith, an attackman from Lutherville, Md. (Boy’s Latin HS) are among 27 members of the South team that will take on the North squad at 5:30 p.m. at Edith Robb Dixon Field.

The North-South Division III game will be played at 3 p.m. followed by the North-South Division I/II game at 5:30 p.m. Tickets to both games cane be purchased at the gate the day of the game.

The Division I/II South team will be coached by Villanova head coach Mike Corrado and his staff while North team will be led by U.S. Air Force Academy head coach Eric Seremet and his staff.

Both Diachenko and Smith closed out outstanding careers for the Blue Hens this past spring for head coach Bob Shillinglaw and become the first UD players to participate in the North-South game since Kevin Kaminski, Noah Fossner, Matt Stefurak, and Nick Elsmo represented UD in the 2011 game. Fossner earned game Most Valuable Player honors for his play in goal.

Diachenko earned second team All-Colonial Athletic Association honors in 2013 after leading the Blue Hens in scoring all season and finishing the year with 39 goals, the fifth best total in the league. He also dished out four assists and finished with 39 points while scooping up 12 groundballs and causing five turnovers. He scored multiple goals in a game 13 times, recorded four hat tricks, and finished his career with 67 goals and nine hat tricks.

Smith, a three-year letterwinner at Delaware after transferring from Ohio State, was Delaware’s second leading scorer in 2013 when he collected 30 points on 19 goals and 11 assists. He led the team with five man-up goals while also recording 43 groundballs and five caused turnovers. He posted five multiple-goal games in 2013 and finished his career with 80 points on 45 goals and 35 assists. In addition, he earned the team’s Gary Celeste Spirit, Enthusiasm, and Leadership Award earlier in the season.

Other members of the North team include attackmen David DiMaria (Lehigh), Jack Rice (Villanova), Brett Schmidt (Mt. St. Mary’s), Dante Fantoni (Lehigh), Jack Forster (Penn State), midfielders Tim Schwalje (Penn), Max Hart (Villanova), Dan Morrissey (Belmont Abbey), Zach Cummings (Limestone), Travis Crane (Penn State), Greg Griffo (Tampa), Aaron Prosser (Drexel), Robert Church (Drexel), Bryant Schmidt (Mt. St. Mary’s), Trevor Timmerberg (Bellarmine), and Jordan Houtby (Detroit Mercy), defenders Brennan Bicknese (Georgetown), Ethan Murphy (UMBC), Michael Noone (Lehigh), Anthony Rusch (Seton Hill), Michael Huffner (Bucknell), and Anthony Santomo (Penn), faceoff specialist Ryan Snyder (Lehigh), and goalkeepers Dillon Ward (Bellarmine) and Andrew Wascavage (Towson).