CLAYMONT, Del. – Former University of Delaware All-American women’s lacrosse standout Karen (Emas) Borbee, who led the Blue Hens to three national titles during her stellar career in the early 1980’s, was honored last week when she was inducted into the Delaware County Chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame.

Emas, who recently completed her 21st season as women’s lacrosse head coach at Swarthmore (Pa.) College, was one of 14 people honored during the ceremony, which was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Claymont, Del.

A native of Swarthmore, Pa. and a 1984 honors graduate of Delaware, Emas burst on to the women’s lacrosse scene at Delaware and enjoyed a stellar career playing for head coach Janet Smith. She and Smith were inducted into the inaugural class of the University of Delaware athletics Hall of Fame in 1997.

Emas is also a member of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Pennsylvania Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

While at Delaware, Emas was a four-year starter on attack and set NCAA records for goals scored in a season (94) and career (310), and points scored in a career (420). She established 15 total school records, including still standing marks for goals in a season (94) and career (310), assists in a game (8) and career (110), and points in a game (16), season (13), and career (420).

She earned All-American honors three straight years in 1982-84, was a member of the U.S. National Lacrosse squad, was named Most Valuable Player of the 1983 NCAA Tournament, and as a two-time East Coast Conference Player of the Year. She was named the University of Delaware Outstanding Senior Female Athlete of the Year in 1984.

During her four years, Delaware teams posted a combined record of 60-9-1, won the AIAW Division I national championship in both 1981 and 1982, the NCAA Division I national championship in 1983, and a third place finish at the NCAA Division I national championships in 1984. In addition, she led the Hens to East Coast Conference titles in 1983 and 1984.

In addition to Emas, also inducted where Jack Bitting (basketball), Steve Harkins (track & field), Harry Peretta (basketball coach), Bruce Udovich (football), Robert Nilon, John O’Reilly (basketball), Susan Scheez (coach/administrator), Carl Blair (basketball), Marty Cull (football), Jack People (officiating), Warren Sutton (basketball), and Lou Soscia (baseball). Tom Baumeister received the 2013 Doug Connelly Award.