NEWARK, Del. – University of Delaware women’s lacrosse head coach Kateri Linville announced the team’s annual award recipients recently with junior Caitlin McCartney (Doylestown, Pa./Archbishop Wood) earning Most Valuable Player accolades for the third consecutive season.

A three-time All-CAA and IWLCA All-Mid Atlantic Region selection, McCartney led the Blue Hens in 2014 with 39 goals and is currently 14th in school history with 115 career scores.  The Delaware team captain is also third in the CAA with 2.39 goals per game and seventh with 2.82 points per contest.  An impact midfielder for the Hens, McCartney has scored at least one point in all but one game played in a Delaware uniform.

Other award honorees included freshman Mary Abram (Wilmington, Del./Ursuline), sophomore Erin Wein (Middletown, Md./Middletown) and senior Tori Zorovich (Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa).

Abram was named the Most Improved Player while Wein earned the Janet Smith Grit Award and Zorovich collected the UD Sportsmanship Award.

In her first collegiate season, Abram saw action in wins over La Salle and Virginia Tech.  Additionally, Abram collected her first career groundball against the Hokies on March 12.

Wein was a defensive threat to Delaware opponents this past season as she guided a squad that is ranked 20th in the NCAA with 9.29 caused turnovers per game and 25th in scoring defense.  Individually, Wein led the Hens with 31 groundballs and caused turnovers and is second in the CAA and 17th in NCAA Division I with 1.82 caused turnovers per game.

Zorovich recorded a career year in her senior campaign by posting a mark of 9-4 with 85 saves. She is 21st in the NCAA with 8.42 goals allowed per game. 

All four individuals were critical in the success of a Blue Hens squad this season that made their first appearance in the CAA Tournament since the 2009 campaign.