RICHMOND, Va. – In a vote by the league’s head coaches, University of Delaware women’s lacrosse junior Caitlin McCartney (Doylestown, Pa.) was named to the Preseason All-Colonial Athletic Association team.

McCartney was the first Blue Hen to be named to the IWLCA All-Mid-Atlantic Region first team since 2007 following the 2013 season where she was also a first team All-CAA selection and the UD Alumni Association Team MVP.

“Caitlin is a talented player who knows how to be a game-changer in pressure situations and the team knows she has the ability to lead us to victory,” stated head coach Kateri Linville, who is in her fourth season with the Blue Hens. “As a captain, Caitlin will be relied upon by the staff and team to be a leader on and off the field. We all have a tremendous amount of confidence in her abilities and know she will guide Delaware back to conference and national prominence.”

Despite missing two games due to injury, McCartney led the CAA and was 21st in the nation last season with 2.93 goals per game. Additionally, the midfielder was second in the conference with four game-winning goals and third with 3.29 points per game.

McCartney currently holds the school record with 2.51 draw controls per game and is ninth in Delaware history with 73 career draw controls. Furthermore, she has recorded 15 career hat tricks during her time with the Blue Hens.

Towson senior Ashleigh Rohrback and Hofstra junior April Iannetta were selected as the 2014 Co-CAA Preseason Players of the Year.

Earlier this week, Delaware was predicted to finish fourth overall in the CAA Preseason rankings.

The Blue Hens kick off the 2014 season on Saturday, Feb. 15 with a 1 p.m. contest at No. 10 ranked Georgetown.


Brittain Altomare, Hofstra, Jr.
Andi Raymond, Towson, Jr.
Amy Roguski, James Madison, Sr.
Ashleigh Rohrback, Towson, Sr.

Becky Conto, Hofstra, So.
Ali Curwin, James Madison, Jr.
Katie Leech, Towson, Sr.
Caitlin McCartney, Delaware, Jr.
Amanda Norcini, Drexel, Sr.
Taelor Salmon, William & Mary, Sr.

Lexi Cross, James Madison, Jr.
April Iannetta, Hofstra, Jr.
Kaitlin Sheridan, Towson, Sr.

Kelsea Donnelly, Towson, Jr.
Schylar Healy, James Madison, Jr.

Co-Players of the Year:
April Iannetta, Hofstra, Jr.
Ashleigh Rohrback, Towson, Sr.