NEWARK, DE -- Alex Smith (at right), who set nearly every NCAA faceoff record in leading the University of Delaware men’s lacrosse team to the 2007 national semifinals, and John Grant, who led the 1999 Blue Hens to the NCAA quarterfinals and was selected the national player of the year, were the top vote-getters in the recently completed on-line voting contest to pick the all-time greatest players in Blue Hen men’s lacrosse history.

The on-line voting contest was part of the 60 Years of Delaware Men’s Lacrosse celebration this season. The Blue Hens defeated Robert Morris 20-5 on Saturday afternoon at Rullo Stadium and over 70 former Blue Hen standouts were honored in a halftime ceremony on the field. A post-game tailgate celebration was also held.

Nearly 300 fans submitted on-line ballots via email in which they selected their six favorite attackmen, midfielders, and defensemen as well as their top two faceoff specialists and top two goalkeepers. From those votes, the three attackmen, three midfielders, and three defensemen as well as the top faceoff specialist and goalkeeper with the most votes were named to the all-time first team. The second team consisted of the next highest vote-getters.

Smith received 268 total votes (named on 92 percent of the ballots) and Grant received 263 votes (90 percent) in the voting to earn spots on the first team.

The first team consisted of attackmen Grant, Randy Powers, and Anthony DiMarzo, midfielders Jordan Hall, Steve Shaw, John McCloskey, and Jim Bruder, defensemen John Ciliberto, Carey Egan, and Marc Traverso, faceoff specialist Smith, and goalkeeper Chris Collins.

The second team included attackmen Rich Mills, Kevin Lavey, and Don Swan, midfielders Tom Stanziale, Dan Deckelbaum, and Steve Mosko, defensemen Jeff Krafft, Reagan Beck, and Mike Joyce, faceoff specialist Shaw, and goalkeeper Tom Scherr.

Grant, Hall, Smith, Deckelbaum, and Hall still play professionally, Scherr is the only current member of the Blue Hen team named to the team, and Collins is an assistant coach with the Blue Hens.

Grant was named the 1999 USILA National Player of the Year and became Delaware’s first first team All-American when he led the nation in scoring with 110 points on 56 goals and 54 assists. The 1999 America East Player of the Year, he scored 177 total points in just two seasons and was inducted into the UD Athletics Hall of Fame in 2005.

DiMarzo earned All-American honors three times in 1993-95, was the two-time North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year, and remains Delaware’s all-time leading scorer with 251 points, including a school-record 153 assists.

Powers, who was inducted into the UD Athletics Hall of Fame, earned All-American honors three times, including second team honors in 1985 and 1986. He was a two-time East Coast Conference Player of the Year and still holds the UD career record with 161 goals.

Bruder earned All-American honors in 1999, was a four-time all-league selection, and his 117 career goals rank No. 6 all-time at Delaware. Hall, a two-time All-American and the 2005 Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year, led the Hens to the 2007 NCAA Final Four and scored 85 career points.

McCloskey was an All-American in 1979, earned two all-league citations, led the Blue Hens to four conference titles, and ranks No. 4 all-time at UD in scoring with 87 goals and 117 assists. Shaw, who set virtually every NCAA faceoff record before Smith, was a three-time All-American selection in 1984-86 and still holds UD and NCAA records for faceoff winning pct. in a season (.774) and career (.706). He also scored 41 career goals and dished out 24 assists.

Ciliberto earned second team All-American honors in 2000, led the Blue Hens to the 1999 NCAA Tournament, and was a first team All-NAC selection; Egan earned All-American honors in 1996, was a two-time all-conference pick, and led the team to two league titles; and Traverso earned All-American honors in 1999 when he led Delaware to the NCAA Tournament and also was a two-time first team all-league player.

Smith earned All-American honors three times, was a four-time All-CAA selection, led the Blue Hens to the NCAA semifinals in 2007, was the 2007 CAA Player of the Year, and set numerous NCAA and school records for faceoffs and groundballs. He led the nation in faceoff winning percentage in 2005, 2006, and 2007 and finished with a winning pct. of over 70 percent.

Collins, currently the goalkeeper coach at Delaware, earned All-American honors as a goalkeeper in 2004, was a two-time all-conference pick, ranks No. 4 all-time at Delaware with 554 saves, and is the only three-year team captain in school history.

Lavey was a third-team All-American in 1999 and is Delaware’s second all-time leading goal-scorer with 153; Mills was a two-time All-American in 1976 and 1977, led the nation in scoring, and is Delaware’s No. 3 all-time leading scorer with 230 points, including 106 goals; and Swan, the earliest player on the two teams, was a two-time All-American, was inducted into the UD Athletics Hall of Fame in 2000, and set a national record with 65 goals in 1951.

Deckelbaum was a two-time first team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection, scored 77 career goals, and led the Hens to the 2007 NCAA Final Four; Mosko earned three all-conference awards, led the team to three league titles, and scored 82 career goals; and Stanziale was a second team All-American in 1992, the 1992 North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year, and scored 107 career goals.

Beck earned All-American honors in 1971 on defense, was a three-time all-conference selection, and led Delaware to the 1970 Middle Atlantic Conference title; Joyce was a two-time first team all-conference selection in 1996 and 1997; and Krafft was a three-time all-conference pick and led the team to league titles in 1999 and 2000.

Scherr, the only current Blue Hen team member named to the all-time team, is a third-year starter this spring and holds UD records for goalie minutes in a season and career goals against average. The starting goalkeeper for Delaware’s 2007 NCAA Final Four team, he ranks No. 5 all-time at Delaware with 548 career saves.

University of Delaware Men's Lacrosse 60th Anniversary All-Time Team

First Team
: John Grant, Anthony DiMarzo, Randy Powers
Midfield: Jim Bruder, Steve Shaw, Jordan Hall, John McCloskey
Defense: John Ciliberto, Carey Egan, Marc Traverso
Faceoff: Alex Smith
Goalkeeper: Chris Collins

Second Team
Rich Mills, Kevin Lavey, Don Swan
Midfield: Tom Stanziale, Steve Mosko, Dan Deckelbaum
Defense: Reagan Beck, Jeff Krafft, Mike Joyce
Faceoff: Steve Shaw
Goalkeeper: Tom Scherr